Corpus Christi Uninsured and Underinsured Accident Law Firm
Were you hurt in a car accident? Was the other driver uninsured, or do they lack adequate coverage? If so, all is not lost. The Corpus Christi car accident lawyers of Brunkenhoefer, P.C. Injury Law can help you get the compensation you need to pay your medical bills and repair or replace your damaged vehicle. We know that accidents happen, and when the other driver doesn’t have enough insurance to cover you, we’ll be there to step in and help.
While most states, including Texas, require drivers to carry accident liability insurance, many people make the careless decision not to carry insurance coverage or not carry an adequate amount of accident liability insurance. If you or a loved one has been injured in an accident and the faulted driver is uninsured or underinsured, you may still be able to recover monetary compensation. At Brunkenhoefer, P.C. Injury Law, we seek to help victims who have suffered due to someone else’s wrongdoing. If you or a loved one has been the victim of a car accident with an uninsured or underinsured driver, contact Brunkenhoefer, P.C. Injury Law today by calling 361-888-8808, filling out a contact form, or starting an online chat on our website.
Do I Need a Law Firm?
If you or a loved has been in an accident with an uninsured driver, hiring an attorney is prudent. Knowing how to handle a legal claim if you have been in an accident with an uninsured or underinsured driver can be incredibly confusing. If you have been the victim of a crash, you should be focused on healing, not on legalities.
You may be dealing with severe injuries and are wondering when you’ll be able to return to work. You may also be worried about how you’ll be able to pay for car repairs, or how you’ll be able to afford to replace the vehicle you depend on so much. You shouldn’t be forced to worry about these things when you should be focusing on getting better. When you hire an injury attorney to represent you, you can focus on what is most important to you while your legal team does all the legwork on your claim.
Why Choose Brunkenhoefer, P.C. Injury Law?
At Brunkenhoefer, P.C. Injury Attorney, our dedicated attorneys have over 40 years of experience representing clients in personal injury cases, and we have over 25 years of legal experience. Over the years, we have collected tens of millions of dollars for our clients, and you can trust that we won’t stop fighting until we get you the compensation you deserve.
While we understand that financial compensation will not reverse the injuries you have suffered or stop your car from being severely damaged. It will, however, alleviate the economic pressures that come with costly medical treatment and vehicle repairs. You shouldn’t have to pay out of pocket for someone else’s reckless actions, and if they don’t have enough insurance coverage, we’ll be there to help you find the compensation you need during this challenging time.
Frequently Asked Questions
At Brunkenhoefer, P.C. Injury Law, we have dealt with countless accidents involving uninsured and underinsured drivers over the years. If you have been the victim of one of these accidents, you undoubtedly have many questions. We have compiled some of the most frequently asked questions that we receive and answered them below. If you have other questions or need more information, please don’t hesitate to call us at (361) 888-8808.
What does being uninsured or underinsured mean?
In Texas, an uninsured driver is one who does not have accident liability insurance, and an underinsured driver is one whose accident insurance is insufficient to cover damages resulting from an accident. It is estimated that roughly 25% of drivers in Texas are uninsured or underinsured. In 2015, the Texas legislature passed a law making it mandatory for all drivers to carry a certain amount of auto insurance, including the following amounts:
• $25,000 of property insurance
• $30,000 of personal injury insurance per person
• $60,000 of personal injury insurance per accident
Drivers who do not get auto insurance, even though the law requires it, can be subject to fines and other penalties if they are pulled over. Also, if an uninsured or underinsured driver is found to have caused an accident, they will be held personally liable for any damages and injuries they cause. However, collecting damages from an uninsured or underinsured driver may be difficult if they do not have the money or the assets to pay you.
How can I recover money for my injuries resulting from an accident with an uninsured or underinsured driver?
While the other driver in an accident may be uninsured or underinsured and may not be able to pay for any damages you suffered as a result of an accident, your insurance company may compensate you if you have uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. Some situations where uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage will pay you include the following:
• A car accident where the driver is not on the insurance policy of the vehicle owner
• A car accident where the driver does not have accident liability coverage
• A hit-and-run accident
• A multi-vehicle crash, where the driver who was at fault does not have enough insurance to cover everyone’s damages
• A car accident intentionally caused by the other driver, and whose insurance denied the claim because of the wrongful and intentional act
• Being the passenger in a car that is hit by another car whose owner does not have insurance
Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage is a policy that covers the insurance holder. While it is not required to carry uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage in Texas, it must be presented to the policyholder as an option when they get their auto insurance coverage. Drivers who opt not to carry uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage must do so in writing.
What should I do if I have been in an accident with an uninsured or underinsured driver?
Whenever you are in an accident, it is prudent to contact the police and file a report. If no one is hurt, the police may not always respond to the accident scene, and you may trade contact information, insurance information (if they have it), and vehicle registration information with the other driver. If someone is injured, the police will respond to the accident scene. In either case, if you have been in an accident with an uninsured or underinsured driver, you should contact the police and file a report. This will be helpful for any future insurance and legal claims.
Being in a car accident is traumatic enough; if the other driver is uninsured or under-insured, it will only add to your stress. Knowing how to proceed with a claim to make sure that you are compensated for any damages you suffered is confusing and complicated. That’s why the knowledgeable and aggressive attorney at Brunkenhoefer, P.C. Injury Attorney are here to help.
At Brunkenhoefer, P.C. Injury Law, we believe that people should be held responsible for their careless or reckless actions. If you have been in an accident with an uninsured or underinsured motorist, contact Brunkenhoefer, P.C. Injury Law today by calling 361-888-8808 to schedule a free, no-obligation consultation to discuss the accident. We will listen to you, investigate the accident, and will leave no stone unturned in our quest to get you the fair and just compensation that you are owed. Contact us at 361-888-8808, chat with us live on our site, or fill out a contact form today.